Advanced Search
Nenad Bach - Editor in Chief

Sponsored Ads
 »  Home  »  Culture And Arts  »  (E) Angela Brkic Wins Whiting Award, The New York Times
(E) Angela Brkic Wins Whiting Award, The New York Times
By Nenad N. Bach | Published  11/3/2003 | Culture And Arts | Unrated
(E) Angela Brkic Wins Whiting Award, The New York Times


Angela Brkic Wins prestigious Whiting Award


Ten Writers Win Annual Whiting Awards


Published: October 30, 2003

Filed at 8:39 p.m. ET
NEW YORK (AP) -- Ten authors have been named winners of the Whiting Writers' Award, given annually to ``emerging writers of exceptional talent and promise.''
Past recipients include playwright Tony Kushner and novelist Jonathan Franzen.
This year's winners each were to receive $35,000 Thursday night at a ceremony at the New York Public Library. Playwright John Guare was scheduled to be the keynote speaker.

Honorees include fiction writers Courtney Angela Brkic, Alexander Chee, Agymah Kamau, Ann Pancake, Lewis Robinson and Jess Row. Also cited were nonfiction writers Christopher Cokinos and Trudy Dittmar, poet Major Jackson and playwright Sarah Ruhl.
The Whiting awards were established in 1985 by the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation, a New York-based organization ``dedicated to the support of the humanities and of creative writing.''


How would you rate the quality of this article?

Enter the security code shown below:
imgRegenerate Image

Add comment

Article Options
Croatian Constellation

Popular Articles
  1. Dr. Andrija Puharich: parapsychologist, medical researcher, and inventor
  2. (E) Croatian Book Club-Mike Celizic
  3. Europe 2007: Zagreb the Continent's new star
  4. (E) 100 Years Old Hotel Therapia reopens in Crikvenica
  5. Nenad Bach & Miro Gavran hosted by Branimir Bilic on Croatian TV 2010
No popular articles found.